Musical Arts

CONCERT SERIES 2023-2024

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

USA Bands Fall Equinox Concert

USA Symphony Band Robert D. Abend, conductor

USA Wind Ensemble
William H. Petersen, conductor

Clash (2006) Ryan Main (b. 1984)

Simple Gifts (2002) Frank Ticheli (b. 1958)

Stillwater (2019) Kelijah Dunton (b. 1999)

Chorale and Alleluia (1954) Howard Hanson (1896-1981)

USA Symphony Band

American Fanfare (2006) James M. Stephenson (b. 1969)

Symphony No. 2 (1972) John Barnes Chance (1932-1972)

Sussurando/Energico Elevato Slancio

Song for Band (2001) William Bolcom (b. 1938)

Robert D. Abend, guest conductor

Polka and Fugue from "Schwanda the Bagpiper" Jaromir Weinberger (1896-1967) arranged for symphonic band by Glenn Cliffe Bainum

USA Wind Ensemble

The Third Concert of Academic Year 2023-2024

Thursday, September 28, 2023 7:30 p.m.

Laidlaw Recital Hall concert piano tunings are provided by



USA Symphony Band Personnel Robert D. Abend, conductor

Flute Trinity Mays * Sarah Harlin Elizabeth Courtney Emma Norris Cayna Rich Addi Ward

Rachel Mason Makaila Ruffin ShyAnn Hill

Oboe

Rebecca Guthrie *

Bassoon

Maeve Rodriguez *

Clarinet
Gabe Clark *
Victoria Marks
Carolyn Lippold
Annalise Philen
Aeilya Walker
Eri Coulson

Bass Clarinet Erin Lockwood Alto Saxophone Sam Hamner *

Josh Nobles Jaryn Barnickel

Tenor SaxophoneGreg Weatherly

Baritone Saxophone

Jacob Pryor **Trumpet**

Jared Freeman *
Hayden Bobe
Desmond Foster
Kaitlyn Sykes
Matthew Owens
Nathan Cobb

Horn

Catherine Power * William Stoll Everett Salter Gabrielle Knight

* denotes principal

Trombone
Andrew Vo *
Bradley Zinck
Jeffery Ward
Jay Williams
Rachel Meyers
Aiden Thompson

Bass Trombone Marshall Waits

Euphonium
Mallory Stanle

Mallory Stanley *
Wesley Grant

TubaErin Dees *

Josue Mendoza Torres Aidan White

Aidan White Quintarius Straight

Percussion
Ryan Wright *
Myles Course

Lebarron McWhorter Simeon Tanner Elias Jones

USA Wind Ensemble Personnel William H. Petersen, conductor

Flute

Katie Wallace *
Katelyn Badtke
Madison Kille
Jaishon Robinson

Oboe

Amy Selkirk ^ Cameron Swann #

Bassoon

Kristina Nelson ^ Gunnar Nelson #

Clarinet

Reese Liggett *
Shannon Kille
Duyen Tran
Dylan Hughes
Elaina Olewnik
Kaylah Orso

Bass ClarinetGabriel Clark

Alto Saxophone

Zander Westphal * Elizabeth Faust

Tenor Saxophone Wyndal Mosley

Baritone Saxophone
Tristen Bodiford

Trumpet

Jaleel Hughes *
Elizabeth Lajnef
Andrew McKinley
Zach Nelson
Ryan Perry

Horn

Garrett Booth *
Mason Ledbetter
Joshua Lightner
Mallori Garner

* denotes principal^ denotes USA faculty# denotes USA alumni

Trombone

Jon Grayson Kerr *
Cooper Tate
Marshall Waites
Ben Brunson

Bass Trombone Harrison Howell

EuphoniumErin Dees *
Hunter Brown

Tuba

Mark Sayler *
Javier Fernandez
Joey White

Percussion

Tyler Scott *
Nathan Slater
Ryan Wright
Simeon Tanner
Jamie Clark

Keyboard Paul Nguyen