

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

Winter Band Concert

USA Symphony Band Jason F. Rinehart, conductor

USA Wind EnsembleWilliam H. Petersen, conductor

Loop D Loop (2018/2020) James M. Stephenson (b. 1969)

Arie VandeWaa, trombone

Frenetico (2020) Anthony O'Toole (b. 1988)

Third Mode Melody (2020) Steve Danyew (b.1983)

Jessica Mandel, guest conductor

In C Dorian (2020) Frank Ticheli (b. 1958)

Matthew Greenwood, guest conductor

Mystic Embers (2021) Jennifer Rose (b. 1978)

(world premiere)

Selections from *The Danserye* (1551/2020) Tielman Susato (1500-1561)

arr. Allen

USA Symphony Band

Fanfare for Democracy (2021)

James Stephenson (b. 1969)

Farfalle Cotte (2006) Marc Melilts (b. 1966)

Overture to *Don Giovanni* (1787) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

arr. Thorne

Jason F. Rinehart, guest conductor

Academic Festival Overture, op. 80 (1881) Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

arr. Allen

"Intermezzo" from the opera *The Nose* (1928) Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

arr. Cahn

Matthew Greenwood, guest conductor

First Suite in E-flat, op. 28, no. 1 (1909) Gustav Holst (1874-1934)

ed. Matthews

USA Wind Ensemble

The Twenty-eighth Concert of Academic Year 2020-2021 Thursday, March 4, 2021 7:30 p.m.

USA Symphony Band Personnel

Flute
Jaishon Robinson *
Randy Le
Ginger Llivian

Kelton Shirley

Oboe

Hayley Turner *

Clarinet

Emily Castaneda * Jenaya Simon Patricia Langham Mikaili Douglas Claire Cazalas

Bass Clarinet Erin Lockwood

Ashlyn Heaton

Alto Saxophone Connor Daley * Blake Bodie Karl Whiting Tenor Saxophone
Bryce Baggett
Austin Alexander

Baritone Saxophone

Tyler Peek

Trumpet

Dakota Mellick *
Brett Fabacher
Austin Allen
Tanner Madden
Abigail McKinney

Jade Slater Zach Nelson Blake Daniel

Horn

Teagan Pierce *
Garrett Booth

* denotes principal

Trombone
Ben Brunson *
Cooper Tate
Brianna Rawden
Victoria Hill

Bass Trombone
Josh Walker *

Euphonium

Trevor Sullivan *
Jeremy Perryman

Tuba

Larry Harbison *
Erin Dees

Percussion

Cassidy Wallace *
Patrick Boyd
Nyisha Stabler
Jake Byars
Sam Goecke

USA Wind Ensemble Personnel

Flute

Maria Lawrence * Jaishon Robinson Marlo Daniels

Oboe

Jessica Mandel * Cameron Swann

Bassoon

Gunnar Nelson *

Clarinet

Erika Horne *
Sarah Wilson
Cheyenne Higgs
Reese Liggett
Sean Connell

Bass Clarinet Claire Cazales Alto Saxophone

Israel Valenzuela *
Zander Westphal

Tenor Saxophone Greg Weatherly

Baritone Saxophone Tucker Hernandez

Trumpet

Cameron Sansing *
Michael Baxter
Ethan Walsh
Jacobe Ramsey
Julia Nelson
Cody Morrison

Horn

Bethany Driggers (I) *
Catherine Power (II)
Mallori Garner (III)
Grant Skinner (IV)

* denotes principal

Trombone

Destin Hinkel *
Juan Carlos Mata
Destiny Miskel
Nicholas Herboso, bass

Euphonium

Noah Barnett * Christopher Wren Greg Wheat

Tuba

Timothy Taldon, Jr. * Micheal Williams Wesley Crosby

Double Bass Jamie Myers

Percussion

Sam Goecke *
Aayush Patel
William Langley
Christian Callaway
Kindall Calhoun

Laidlaw Recital Hall concert piano tunings are provided by

