

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

# USA Wind Ensemble Songs and Dances

### William H. Petersen, conductor

# Michael Phillips, guest conductor

Noisy Wheels of Joy (2001)

Eric Whitacre (b. 1970)

Elegy (1972)

John Barnes Chance (1932-1972)

Michael Phillips, conductor

Lincolnshire Posy (1937)

Percy Aldridge Grainger (1882-1961)

"Lisbon" (Sailor's Song)

edited by Frederick Fennell

- "Horkstow Grange" (The Miser and his Man: A Local Tragedy)
- "Rufford Park Poachers" (Poaching Song)
- "The brisk young Sailor" (returned to wed his True Love)
- "Lord Melbourne" (War Song)
- "The Lost Lady found" (Dance Song)

#### **INTERMISSION**

Dance Movements (1996)

Philip Sparke (b. 1951)

Ritmico Molto vivo (for the Woodwinds) Lento (for the Brass) Molto ritmico

The Thirty-first Concert of Academic Year 2014-2015

Thursday, November 13, 2014 7:30 p.m.

## **USA Wind Ensemble**

## William H. Petersen, conductor

Flute	Trumpet
Brianna Smith	Drew Pritchard
Nicole Carrion	Shawn Wright
Beth Holmes	Michaela Vaughn
	Nathan Shadix
Oboe	Jenetta McGee
Kaitlyn Poiroux	Paige Nelson

English Horn	Horn
Todd Stehr	Morgan Wilkins
	Christopher Gaal
Bassoon	Dustin Miller
Jake Cannon	Colby Smith
Laura Lovett	

	Trombone
Clarinet	Will Rosati
Alexys Bush	Luke Smith
Jacob Diercks	Octavius Johnson
Alyssa Wieskopf	Tyler Brandon
Meredith Wyatt	

Carson Watson	Euphonium
Chanael Wilson	Chris LeBatard
	Rodnev Byrd

Bass Clarinet	J J
Anniestacia Miskel	Tuba
Stephanie Diaz	Matt Selete
Ivan Merriweather	Chris McCrary
	77 4 0 1

Ivan Merriweather	Chris McCrary
	Kenneth Coleman
Soprano Saxophone	
Karl Bentley	String Bass
•	D 1'1 M

	Rodik Newsome
Alto Saxophone	Lance Wilkinson
David Collins	
Andrew Cox	Piano

Tenor Saxophone	
Bryan Chisholm	Harp
•	Andra Bohnet*
Paritona Savanhana	

Baritone Saxophone	
Reed Gilmore	Percussion
	Luke Smith
	Ben Ivey
	Ryan Boehme
	Soren Odom
	Ian Jones

<sup>\*</sup> denotes USA Music Faculty

Hannah Roberts