

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC

Wind Ensemble Spring Concert

Greg L. Gruner, conductor Ward Miller, associate conductor William H. Petersen, assistant conductor

Emily Allen, Jonathan Faust, Rachel Moody, Austin Platt, Nathan Shadix, Brianna Smith, student conductors

Fanfare from La Péri (1912) Paul Dukas (1865-1935)

Overture for Winds (1959) Charles Carter (b. 1926)

Brianna Smith, student conductor

A Basque Lullaby (2007) Dan Forrest (b. 1978)

Emily Allen, student conductor

Kentucky 1800 (1955) Clare Grundman (1913-1996)

Rachel Moody, student conductor

"Blessed Are They That Mourn" Johnannes Brahms (1833-1897) from *A German Requiem* (1865-1868) scored by Barbara Buehlman

Nathan Shadix, student conductor

The Liberty Bell (1893)

John Philip Sousa (1854-1932)

Austin Platt, student conductor

Rhapsody on American Shaped Note Melodies (1996)

James Curnow (b. 1943)

Jonathan Faust, student conductor

Children's March: "Over the Hills and Far Away" (1919) Percy Grainger (1882-1961)

William H. Petersen, conductor

Symphony No. 3, op. 89 (1997)

James Barnes (b. 1949)

III. For Natalie, Mesto

IV. Finale, Allegro giocoso

Suite of Old American Dances (1949)

Robert Russell Bennett (1894-1981)

- I. Cakewalk
- II. Schottische
- III. Western One-Step
- IV. Wallflower Waltz
- V. Rag

Ward Miller, conductor

RECITAL HALL LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER Thursday, April 18, 2013 7:30 p.m.

	WIND ENSEMBLE PERSONNEL		
Flute	E-flat Alto Saxophone	Euphonium	
Rachel Moody * Brianna Smith Beth Holmes	Courtney Day * Karl Bentley	Chase West * Tyler Herrington	
	B-flat Tenor Saxophone	Tuba	
Oboe	Andrew Cox	Matthew Selete *	
Madi Kreamer * Kaitlyn Poiroux (English Horn)	E-flat Baritone Saxophone	Dalton Dennis	
	Brittney Franklin	Double Bass	
Bassoon	Trumpet	Lance Wilkinson	
Jake Cannon * Clarinet Emily Allen * Derek McDougal Chanael Wilson Sierra Higgins Jacob Diercks Alex Carper Bass Clarinet	Drew Pritchard * Dennis Parker Shawn Wright Antwan Washington Nathan Shadix Jimmy Rogers Horn Morgan Wilkins * Lauren Morrison Christopher Gaal Jackie LeBatard	Percussion Ben Ivey * Ryan Boehme Jessica Foster Ian Jones Bryant Ramey Luke Smith Piano Dr. Ward Miller # Dr. Laura Moore #	
Kathleen Killebrew * Ivan Merriweather	Trombone Edward Doyle * Jonathan Faust	* - denotes principal # - denotes faculty	

Jonathan Faust Will Rosati Austin Platt, bass