Faculty List


Dr.Carmichael

Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael

Associate Professor,University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Marine Ecosystem Response

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext.7555


Email: rcarmichael@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr. Just Cebrian

Dr. Just Cebrian

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Coastal Ecosystem Science; Human Impacts on Coastal Ecosystems; Coastal Resiliency and Management; Aquatic-Terrestrial Comparative Ecology 

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 7568 

Email: jcebrian@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Dorgan

Dr. Kelly Dorgan

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Benthic ecology; biomechanics of burrowing; biological-physical interactions; functional morphology and physiology of invertebrates.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailkdorgan@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Dzwonkowski

Dr. Brian Dzwonkowski

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: coastal circulation and across-shelf exchange processes, estuarine circulation and exchange processes, physical-biological coupling in the marine environment, and ocean observing systems. 

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailbdzwonkowski@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Heck

Dr. Kenneth L. Heck Jr.

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Ecology of plant-animal interactions in seagrass meadows, and restoration of submerged aquatic vegetation, oyster reefs and wetlands

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2284

Email: kheck@disl.org  

Faculty website

 

Dr.Kiene

Dr. Ronald P. Kiene

Professor and Graduate Coordinator, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology; organic sulfur cycling

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2269

Emailrkiene@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phytoplankton ecology, physiology and marine biogeochemistry

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 7577

Email: jkrause@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr. John Lehrter

Dr. John Lehrter

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Nutrient biogeochemistry and eutrophication impacts in coastal ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: jlehrter@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Powers

Dr. Sean Powers

Professor and Chair of Marine Sciences, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Fisheries ecology; conservation and restoration of coastal shellfish and finfish 

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: spowers@disl.org  

Faculty website

 

Dr.Robertson

Dr. Allison Robertson

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: The role, fate, and biological effects of natural toxins and venoms, and other anthropogenic toxicants on organism, population, and ecosystem health in tropical and sub-tropical regions.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailarobertson@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Shipp

Dr. Robert Shipp

Professor Emeritus, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phylogeny of fishes; impact of artificial structures on fish population dynamics

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: rshipp@southalabama.edu

Faculty website

 

Dr.Valentine

Dr. John Valentine

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Experimental Marine Ecology, Plant-animal interactions, Habitat Linkages, Human-Dominated Ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2261

Email: jvalentine@disl.org 

Faculty website

 

Dr. Xiangli Wang

Dr. Xiangli Wang

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Marine Geochemistry, Redox Reactions, Metal Isotopes


Faculty website